Lee Greenwood Releases Vinyl to Honor 40th Anniversary of ‘God Bless The U.S.A’

Photo from Lee Greenwood’s Instagram

Lee Greenwood Releases Vinyl to Honor 40th Anniversary of ‘God Bless The U.S.A’

By Movieguide® Contributor

Country legend Lee Greenwood, best known for his patriotic hit “God Bless The U.S.A.,” is releasing a special vinyl in honor of the song’s 40th anniversary.

“CMA, and GRAMMY award-winning country music legend Lee Greenwood is celebrating the 40th anniversary of his timeless patriotic anthem ‘God Bless The U.S.A.’ with the first-ever vinyl release of his iconic album, ‘American Patriot,’” a press release announced. “The record, which comprises his most popular patriotic songs in a single LP collection, will be pressed on red, white, and blue ‘fireworks’ splatter vinyl and is available for pre-order in time for July 4th.”

“This remastered ‘American Patriot’ album, initially released in 1992, features Greenwood’s fan favorites and hits,” Greenwood’s website reports.

The track list for the vinyl is as follows:


1) “The Pledge of Allegiance”

2) “America”

3) “God Bless The U.S.A.”

4) “This Land Is Your Land”

5) “The Battle Hymn Of The Republic”


6) “God Bless America”

7) “Dixie”

8) “The Great Defender”

9) “America The Beautiful”

10) “Star Spangled Banner”

“I’m honored to have such a fantastic relationship with Universal Music and am truly grateful for their efforts to release my anthemic patriotic album on vinyl in time for the 4th of July,” Greenwood said. “It’s beautiful and is an impressive display of the creative products that our fans can enjoy!”

The record will also be available wherever music is streamed. 

Greenwood and his team also recently released AN ALL-STAR SALUTE TO LEE GREENWOOD to DVD and Blu-Ray. It featured performances from stars including The Oak Ridge Boys, Big & Rich and more.

Movieguide® previously reported on Greenwood’s legacy, which has now spanned over four decades:

In just a few short years, Greenwood boasted a number of No. 1 hits, including: “Somebody’s Gonna Love You,” “Going Going Gone,” “Dusty Dixie Road,” “Hearts Aren’t Meant To Break,” and “Morning Ride.”  

In 1983, Greenwood penned his most famous, “God Bless the USA.” Greenwood wrote the song “in response to the shooting down of Korean Airlines Flight 007 by the Soviet Union,” according to thetrucker.com. 

Forty years later, Greenwood still performs the song.

“Greenwood, a staunch conservative, took his song on the political road for Donald Trump’s presidential campaign, singing it at rallies across America in both 2016 and 2020. More than a few other politicians have informally adopted the song for their own purposes, using it to add a patriotic flair to rallies and appearances.” 

Watch BLUE BLOODS: Hold Outs
Quality: - Content: +1
Quality: - Content: +3